DAY 38: MY CAMINO IS FINISHED

My arrival at the cathedral.

When I came to Santiago 15 days ago by train, it was with a lot different feeling than walking into it today. This was a hard day and I did not think I was ever going to get here, and when I finally did, I was very happy. I walked in with Anna Gabriella from California. We had crossed paths a couple of times today, but only walked together for about the last 5 kilometers or so. I think it helped both of us make that last few kilometers. Most of the day I walked alone, and most of the day, I did not even see anyone else. The Sarria crowd is not so apparent. This is Anna. She wants to come back and walk with her daughter.

This is about as close as I ever got to sunshine today, though it is peeking thru the clouds now.

Loved the scenery along the woodland paths as usual. Walked thru eucalyptus groves and you can smell the very distinct odor. They are the tall, straight trees.

 

 

Jill, this is for you. With a few adjustments it must have been written for us. Some people might say this is written to Jim, but I know it is Jill.

Every step was better with you and I am so sorry you could not finish. I thought about you as I approached the Cathedral today. I am glad we had some time together here. Meet me in Madrid on Tuesday, just like it all started.

Some pilgrims must have a lot of energy left. Another sign called this a pub crawl. I would have to crawl, I think.

I am too tired to try to consider my feelings of walking the Camino, and would rather devote,some quality time to that over the next day or so, since I will not be spending my day walking. I will poke around some tomorrow and probably take a bus to Finistere on Monday. Otherwise, hope to see some of the pilgrims Jill and I started with. But for now, my feet are thrilled that they don't have to walk tomorrow.

Tomorrow,we start processing all of this. For now, I will say I am glad I did it and equally glad I am at the end.

 

13 thoughts on “DAY 38: MY CAMINO IS FINISHED

  1. Good on you Steve. You made it.

    That’s all that matters.

    The exhaustion and pain will soon fade, but your memories of your achievement will stay with you for the rest of your life.

    Congratulations.

    Bill

    1. Hi honey,
      I am just now catching up with your last blogs as I didn’t make it to the cafe yesterday. What a beautiful, sweet thing to say! Wow, I am touched in many ways. I too am sorry that I am not there with you physically but am certainly in spirit. It must feel very different from our time there 2 weeks ago. I feel like I haven’t seen you in months. I’m wondering if you finally got to the pilgrims mass and how it felt. I’ll bet it was really beautiful inside and out.

      I know that I am going to meet up with a very different person in Madrid and am very excited to be with you. It has been so apparent how much you have grown over the last 2 weeks and how obvious it is to all those who have followed you , let alone those who have known you your whole life starting with Mom, Barbara and Lynn. I know your Dad is grinning his famous grin and scratching his head, saying, “welcome son, I knew you had it in you, but what took you so long?” Or something like that! What I am really trying to say is that I am really proud of you and happy for you. You have always deserved to be this full of life and this happy and content. At to have accomplished this a week before your 71st birthday, or as I’m calling it your re-bith-day, is even more impressive. Many people at a that age have closed down and stopped growing, you’ve just begun! I will gladly join you in Madrid to celebrate our respective re-births. I love you and will see you soon. Xoxo

      1. Since we just enjoyed a long texting chat I will just say I am looking forward to seeing you in Madrid and have fun in London. Got my Compostela this morning and went to pilgrims mass. Love you, Steve

  2. Bill knows whereof he speaks. I can only imagine. Hooray for you. Hooray for your feet. Enjoy your last days. Thanks for including the rest of us. Right now you stand as tall and straight as those eucalyptus. Love you much. See you Wednesday.

  3. Congratulations Steve, enjoy Santiago, pub crawl is great and wishing you sunshine for Finsterra. Thanks for taking me along your walk. Suseia Ingrid

  4. Congratulations Steve!
    Having followed your wonderful blog from those first snowy days in St Jean, I have admired your honesty, determination and tenacity. I really wanted to thank you for taking me on your wonderful journey. I will be walking with a friend same time next year and your blog provided me with a lot to think about and preparation to do.
    So bless you and Jill for your openness and honesty.
    Michelle.

    1. Thanks Michelle. It was great having you along. It adds yet another dimension to the Camino and the experience. If I were to do it again, which I can’t imagine, I would do another blog. A fun way to meet interesting people. Steve

Leave a comment